A Little Memory, A Lot Of Gratefulness

When I say the word ‘missionary’ you might have an image in your mind of a person in a jungle, fighting off cannibals with a baby in one hand, while preaching the gospel. Okay, maybe not that exact image but some people think that it’s always that adventurous.

While in some places it is, in some we are just living normal lives, and others are in between. I’ve had a pretty normal life, although I’ve had a few adventurous and I still do.

A few of the adventures I’ve had are, the fact that we do hide our church, and it’s actually gotten worse. But it’s not that bad, don’t worry. I’ve seen things in our church that a “normal” person wouldn’t see.

As a PK and MK, I saw more than usual. Can’t really go further about that, but I’ve seen the ups and downs of people, and it’s incredible. You grow a lot seeing how people are, on a different level than usual. Being an MK and PK puts you under a microscope and at the same time puts you on a platform. So, you will be respected but you will be judged quickly.
I was out on my balcony yesterday, and took a deep breath of fresh air, and a bunch of memories flooded in. Childhood memories like me and my mom looking out at the ocean(yes, we live near the ocean). Or going to my best friend’s house. Even memories of going to the airport to go to States at 6 in the morning.

I just took a second and realized how much I love the smell, and the memories that I have here. I’m so lucky to be here. To get to know a second language (even though it’s a pain sometimes, haha), to know this place, to know it exists, to know the smells and sounds and to truly appreciate what I have…because, boy, have I come to appreciate things most people take for granted.

I’d never thought about it till recently, but I think one of the reasons I’m always so there and responsive for my friends is because I miss them and don’t take them for granted and make sure to talk to them as much as possible. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure I’d do that if we were in the same country, but I think it added more gratefulness. Things that happened here with my best friend, made me appreciate her more than ever. I rarely take things for granted, I appreciate the smallest things, I love adults(never had that teenage phase of liking only my peers. My circle was always wide. I blame homeschool. (jk, I thank it) I’m outgoing and I just am a positive person. The people I’m with surrounded with affected me greatly.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure I’d do that if we were in the same country, but I think it added more gratefulness. Things that happened here with my best friend, made me appreciate her more than ever. I rarely take things for granted, I appreciate the smallest things, I love adults(never had that teenage phase of liking only my peers. My circle was always wide. I blame homeschool. (jk, I thank it) I’m outgoing and I just am a positive person. The people I’m surrounded with affected

The people I’m surrounded with affected me, the things I went through, my parents, being an MK and PK.  My best friends who I became friends with because I am an MK have affected me immensely. All of my friends affected me immensely.

…But I got off track, so, my point is, so many things I’ve grown to love, the person I am, my friends, all happened because of where God placed me. Sure, there are days where it’s hard being on the mission field, where I feel totally isolated and I count the days till I go back. But when I have those bad days, I lean on God. I am best friends with God because I’m an MK.

I can’t thank God enough for everything He has done. For my life, for everyone in it, for everything that has happened, bad and good, they are stories to tell. And honestly, I can say that my life has a lot of movie parts. Like, seriously!    I have God to thank for that because I always wanted to have a movie life or movie like moments. Ha, ha.
I’m so grateful God has made me a missionary. I love every single thing about my life, so I wouldn’t change a thing.

Leave a comment